Excel Academy

This regional program provides a structured setting specifically designed to address the needs of students who require an intensive program to address emotional disabilities or serious behaviors that impede their learning. Students have the support of two onsite King's View Mental Health Clinicians, two behavior specialists, a psychologist and Behavior Intervention Case Managers. The small site allows for supervision and safety while allowing the least restrictive environment. Weekly assemblies provide for student recognition and parental involvement is encouraged. The program hosts two six-week sessions involving parents who want to connect with others about strategies to engage students in positive home and school interactions. A Regional Placement Team meets weekly to review students who are candidates for the program. Our program provides many opportunities for families to engage in their student's education. Parents are invited to attend field trips, award assemblies, the Thanksgiving Feast and to visit classrooms.

Excel Academy provides a safe and supportive environment where students develop effective academic and behavioral skills. Students are empowered to achieve their full potential through inter-agency partnerships and collaboration with families.

Photo of Gina Murphy

Gina Murphy
Principal / Director - Special Education
Excel Academy

Excel Academy
3711 Oasis Road
Redding, CA 96003
phone: 530.410.6088 ext. 2277
fax: 530.225.0308

Inclusive education seeks to address the learning needs of all children. The goal is to promote opportunities for all children to participate and be treated equally. Andie Fong Toy

Stephanie Whittington
Administrative Assistant
Excel Academy

Who We Are:

Excel Academy is a regional placement center for students in grades K-8 in Shasta County. Our teachers are credentialed Special Education professionals who specialize in Intensified Tier Supports. Our staff is specially trained in behavior management techniques for the school setting.

What We Do:

Excel Academy works with students and families to equip students with replacement behaviors and coping skills to become successful in a district school setting. We use data driven, research based strategies to support students in obtaining the skills needed for their future. We partner with local agencies and service providers for mental health support as well as social skills training. It is the goal for every student to return to their district school.

Who We Serve:

Excel Academy serves students in grades K-8 who have difficulty regulating their emotions/behaviors and have not responded positively to district Tier supports. Students must have an Individual Education Plan (IEP) to attend.

Excel Academy Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Nov 27
Mon, Nov 28
Tue, Nov 29
Wed, Nov 30
Thu, Dec 1
Fri, Dec 2
Sat, Dec 3
Sun, Dec 4
Mon, Dec 5
Tue, Dec 6
Wed, Dec 7
Thu, Dec 8
Fri, Dec 9
Sat, Dec 10
Sun, Dec 11
Mon, Dec 12
Tue, Dec 13
Wed, Dec 14
Thu, Dec 15
Fri, Dec 16
Sat, Dec 17
Sun, Dec 18
Mon, Dec 19
Tue, Dec 20
Wed, Dec 21
Thu, Dec 22
Fri, Dec 23
Sat, Dec 24
Sun, Dec 25
Mon, Dec 26
Tue, Dec 27
Wed, Dec 28
Thu, Dec 29
Fri, Dec 30
Sat, Dec 31