What is Independent Study?

Shasta County Independent Study (SCIS) is an alternative to conventional educational settings, allowing students to complete coursework independently under the supervision of a credentialed teacher. Students meet individually with an assigned teacher a minimum of two times per week. SCIS is voluntary and provides the flexibility to meet students’ specific needs, interests and learning styles. Our Independent Study teachers utilize State and district-adopted curriculum to insure students meet or exceed California graduation requirements. Instruction is offered at two locations in Redding—one at 3711 Oasis Road, the other one on the Shasta College campus.

Independent Study

Mission

To develop educated, socially responsible citizens.
 

Our Vision

Shasta County Independent Study offers flexible options for personalized/diverse learning to prepare students for college and career readiness.

The capacity to learn is a GIFT; the ability to learn is a SKILL; the willingness to learn is a CHOICE. Brian Herbert

Our Locations

Shasta County Independent Study - Main Campus
3711 Oasis Road
Redding, CA 96003
 

View Address Map to SCIS

Shasta County Independent Study - Shasta College Classroom
This SCIS Classroom is located on the beautiful Shasta College campus. RABA buses offer transportation to Shasta College.


View the Shasta College Map

 

We also offer concurrent enrollment for our students.

View the Shasta College Website

 

Photograph of Mary Lord

Mary Lord - Principal

 

Photograph of Carrie Webb

Carie Webb - Assistant Principal


Phone: 530.225.0163
Fax: 530.225.0250

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Mar 29
Mon, Mar 30
School Dismissed at Noon
-
Tue, Mar 31
Wed, Apr 1
Thu, Apr 2
Fri, Apr 3
SOU - Ashland Field Trip
-
Ashland Oregon
Sat, Apr 4
Sun, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 11
Sun, Apr 12
Tue, Apr 14
Wed, Apr 15
Thu, Apr 16
Fri, Apr 17
Sat, Apr 18
Sun, Apr 19
Mon, Apr 20
Tue, Apr 21
Wed, Apr 22
Thu, Apr 23
Fri, Apr 24
Sat, Apr 25
Sun, Apr 26
Mon, Apr 27
Tue, Apr 28
Wed, Apr 29
Thu, Apr 30
Fri, May 1
Sat, May 2

What We Believe

  • We believe that all students in our community school will graduate from high school prepared to obtain a high-skilled, high wage career.
  • We believe that students need to be prepared for to real world occupations and careers, including having the opportunity to earn certifications and college credits while in high school.
  • We believe that students in an alternative program benefit from individualized instruction that allows for a program designed for their individual needs and one-on-one or small group interaction with an instructor.
  • We believe that making learning relevant to students will results in greater engagement in the educational process.
  • We believe that using instructional technology to provide access to course materials enhances student’s ability to be self-directed and to assume responsibility for their progress towards graduation.

Enrollment

Call 530-225-0163 or stop by our school office:
 
  • Complete an enrollment packet and permission to release school records (parent/guardian signature required). The school office is located at 3711 Oasis Road, Redding, CA
  • Complete academic assessment for placement in English and Math
  • Schedule weekly dates and times for Independent Study sessions
  • View our Parent/Student Handbook here for English, or here for Spanish. If resources in another language are requested, please contact our office at 530-225-0163.