Recognition Programs

Shasta County Schools Recognition Programs

Teacher of the Year

As a county, we honor teachers in three categories each year:

  • Elementary School (including Pre-K)
  • Middle School
  • High School

Teachers are nominated by their schools and candidates are selected from those applications submitted for each of these categories at the conclusion of each school year. A committee selects one of these outstanding teachers to participate in the California Teachers of the Year Program. This program highlights educational innovation, student learning, and the rewards of teaching.

The state program results in the annual selection of five teachers who reflect the diversity of our teachers and students. The process pays tribute to California's teaching force, the complexity of challenges that confront our schools, and the need to promote collaboration and teamwork to meet those challenges. The overall purpose of the California Teachers of the Year Program is to pay tribute to the tireless efforts of our state's outstanding teachers. In doing so, the program brings deserved recognition to the 300,000 California members of the teaching profession.

Please help to celebrate and honor our state's exemplary and highly qualified teachers who represent our students and schools.

Annette Gaddy - Elementary Teacher of the Year, Millville School
Paul Burbank - Middle School Teacher of the Year, Millville School
Brian Grigsby - High School Teacher of the Year, Shasta High School

Public Schools Week

Public Schools Week 2016

Regretfully, Public Schools Week will not be held this year due to scheduling conflicts with the Mt. Shasta Mall. We look forward to event next year!

During Public Schools’ Week, student work and achievement are displayed in the Mt. Shasta shopping mall. The purpose of the program is to provide publicity for schools and to reach a larger segment of the adult population who have no personal contact with schools.

Principal for a Day

Principal for a Day exists to give community leaders’ perspective into the daily life of a school administrator and witness the many opportunities for students in Shasta County.

Principal for a Day Breakfast

Select a media channel, folder or playlist

Classified Employees of the Year

Classified Employee of the Year 2018

2018 Classified Employee of the Year photo

The Classified Employee of the Year program is sponsored each year by the California Department of Education in partnership with County Offices of Education.

This program highlights contributions of California’s classified school employees who provide academic support and services for public school students in preschool through grade twelve. The six nomination categories are Child Nutrition, Maintenance, Operations and Facilities, Office and Technical, Para-Educator and Instructional Assistance, Support Services and Security and Transportation.

Each school in Shasta County is offered the opportunity to nominate their district candidates and submit their finalists for competition at the county level. The winners at the county level are publically recognized at a special ceremony hosted by the Shasta County Board of Education. The six county winners are then submitted to the California Department of Education for competition at the state level.

The 2018 Shasta County Classified Employee of the Year winners are:

  • Office and Technical - Bob Good, Shasta County Office of Education
  • Child Nutrition - Jennifer Flynn - Redding Elementary School District
  • Support Services and Security - Evie Parker - Shasta County Office of Education
  • Transportation - Debbie Stewart - Shasta County Office of Education
  • Maintenance, Operations and Facilities - Lance Stone - Enterprise Elementary School District
  • Para-Educator and Instructional Assistance - Kathy Zeh - Enterprise Elementary School District

As a final note, a copy of the news release naming the 2018 state level winners can be viewed at

Gold Ribbon Schools

The California Department of Education (CDE) seeks to recognize outstanding educational programs and practices. The California Gold Ribbon Schools Award was created to honor schools while the California Distinguished Schools Program is on hiatus as California transitions to new assessment and accountability systems.

California elementary schools that have made tremendous gains in implementing State Board policies and their Local Control Accountability Plan are invited to apply for the Gold Ribbon Schools Award. Model programs and practices should include standards-based activities, projects, strategies, and practices that schools have adopted during this transitional period, which can be replicated by other local educational agencies.

2018 Educator Appreciation

Shasta County Office of Education
Educator Appreciation Night

Registration has closed
please contact us at 225-0200 with any questions.

This year's celebration will be held on Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at The Gaia Hotel and Spa located at 4125 Riverside Place, Anderson.
The evening will begin at 6:00 pm with a no host social followed by dinner and the program at 6:30 pm.

Please join us in celebrating our Shasta County Honorees.

The honorees will include those employees, classified, certificated and management who have received county, region, state, or national level recognition this school year. Board members with 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, or 35 years of service and those that have completed the Masters in Governance Program within the last year will also be honored. We would also like to recognize any teachers who have received their National Board Certification within the last year. In addition, we would like to honor any schools that have received a Distinguished School Award or Title 1 High Achievement Award.

Please fill out the registration form to attend!
When filling out the registration be prepared to share information about your honorees.

Deadline for registration is Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Meal choices are:
Prime Rib
Halibut with Rosemary Butter Sauce
Pasta Primavera (Vegetarian Option)

Dinner is $40 per person.

***Once you have registered please do not forget to email a JPEG photo of your honorees to no later than April 11, 2018***