Schreder Planetarium

About Us

In the spring of 1979 the Schreder Planetarium was opened in Redding as a multi-media science education facility serving the students and citizens of Northern California. The planetarium provides student and community education in Astronomy and Space Science. Capturing the passion and curiosity of children, teenagers and adults, the planetarium is a beautiful, domed theater in which a realistic and scientifically accurate simulation of the night sky is created, using a highly specialized digital projector. The Digistar 3 projector uses powerful graphics hardware and software to generate immersive full-dome images on the interior surface of a dome, integrating all-dome video, real time 3D computer graphics, and complete digital astronomy.

  • Approximately 1,500 square feet
  • 10 meter domed theater
  • 65 seats
  • Built by architects Nichols & Woodward
  • Contractor was Ken Gifford
  • The only astronomy public education center in the north state

Now we embark on a journey of bringing the fascination of astronomy and science to a greater audience. Committed to bring scientific, educational and informative programming to northern California for every age. Our programs are diverse ranging from scientific documentaries to science fiction stories. Schreder Planetarium is open for school field trips with reservation and evening public shows at least once a month.

Hours of Operation

Schreder Planetarium is open to the public for public evening shows only. Shows are always at 7:00p.m. on the dates listed under the tab "Public Evening Shows - Buy Tickets Here!" We also host group field trips throughout the school year during the day. Unfortunately, we are not open to the public during normal business hours for walk-throughs. If you have any questions, please call us at (530) 225-0243. Thank you!

Public Evening Shows - Buy Tickets Here!

Schreder Planetarium is pleased to open it's doors to the public for several evening shows each season. Stay tuned to our calendar to find out about upcoming shows!

Shows begin at 7:00pm. Tickets are $8 each. Children under 5 may enter for free with a paying adult if they are sitting on the adult's lap during the show. NO LATE ADMITTANCE. NO REFUNDS. You may transfer your tickets to a friend if you are unable to attend. 

Please bring your photo ID with you to the show to verify your registration. No tickets will be mailed to you, and you do not need to print out your e-mail confirmation. 

12/7/18 SOLD OUT

12/14/18 SOLD OUT

12/21/18 SOLD OUT

1/4/19

1/18/19

2/1/19

2/15/19

 

Field Trips - Reserve Online Now!

Field Trip Season will run from August 21, 2018 through June 5, 2019.

 

Showtimes are held Tuesday through Friday at 9:00a.m. and 11:00a.m.

All field trip reservations are now done online.  See calendar below to find available dates and complete your registration.  For questions or additional information contact us at (530) 225-0243 or planetarium@shastacoe.org.

Our gift shop offers various fun science toys, t-shirts, and the always popular astronaut ice cream (freeze dried), so students may want to bring cash.

The shows run approximately 90 minutes.

We have space available for 64 star-gazers.

Pricing is $8.00 per person, including teachers and chaperones.

Minimum purchase of 25 tickets/$200 required. If you have a small group, we will do our best to place you with another group to avoid the minimum purchase requirement.

Payment is due the date of the show. A check or a purchase order to invoice your school are acceptable methods of payment. We do not accept cash for ticket sales.

If circumstances change and you need to cancel a field trip reservation, please notify us of the cancellation within 10 business days or as soon as possible. There is a no show fee of $100 if you fail to notify us of your cancellation. 

Schreder Planetarium reserves the right to change or cancel programs without notice.

Shows have been preselected for elementary & middle school field trips to align with newly developed curricula and Next Generation Science Standards to best benefit students. Mixed grade level groups have their choice of show, but we highly recommend that you choose a show with curriculum matching the youngest students in your group to enhance your students' learning experience!

Kindergarten - Forces

1st Grade - Patterns of the Sky

2nd Grade - Engineering

3rd Grade - Adaptions

4th Grade - Light Waves

5th Grade - Secrets of the Sun

Middle School - 8th Integrated: 6th Discipline-Specific

Middle School - 6th Integrated or Discipline-Specific

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Nov 25
Mon, Nov 26
Tue, Nov 27
Planetarium - November 27, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - November 27, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Wed, Nov 28
Planetarium - November 28, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - November 28, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Thu, Nov 29
Planetarium - November 29, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - November 29, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Fri, Nov 30
Planetarium - November 30, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - November 30, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Sat, Dec 1
Sun, Dec 2
Mon, Dec 3
Tue, Dec 4
Planetarium - December 4, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 4, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Wed, Dec 5
Planetarium - December 5, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 5, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Thu, Dec 6
Planetarium - December 6, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 6, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Fri, Dec 7
Kindergarten - Forces - ONLY - 39 tickets left
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 7, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Sat, Dec 8
Sun, Dec 9
Mon, Dec 10
Tue, Dec 11
Planetarium - December 11, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 11, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Wed, Dec 12
Planetarium - December 12, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 12, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Thu, Dec 13
Planetarium - December 13, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 13, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Fri, Dec 14
Sat, Dec 15
Sun, Dec 16
Mon, Dec 17
Tue, Dec 18
Planetarium - December 18, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Planetarium - December 18, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Wed, Dec 19
Subscribe to Alerts Planetarium - December 19, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Subscribe to Alerts Planetarium - December 19, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Thu, Dec 20
Subscribe to Alerts Planetarium - December 20, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Subscribe to Alerts Planetarium - December 20, 2018
-
Schreder Planetarium
Fri, Dec 21
Sat, Dec 22
Sun, Dec 23
Mon, Dec 24
Tue, Dec 25
Wed, Dec 26
Thu, Dec 27
Fri, Dec 28
Sat, Dec 29
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Tue, Jan 1
Wed, Jan 2
Thu, Jan 3
Fri, Jan 4
Sat, Jan 5

Show Catalog

To see our Show Catalog, please click HERE.

Director of Science Programs on The Forum

Friends of the Planetarium

You don’t need a PhD in Astronomy to be a Friend of the Planetarium; just roll up your sleeves and bring your own unique talents and enthusiasm! If you would like to be a part of this exciting work and join the Friends of the Planetarium, please call (530) 225-0243 or email planetarium@shastacoe.org

 

 

Upcoming Events