K-6th Field Labs

Spring and Fall only. Meet your science goals this year at our outdoor campus as field instructors facilitate learning during this 3-hour field trip. Our curriculum is experiential and based on NGSS.

Field trip minimum is 10 students, maximum is 60 students. If you have less than 10 students you will need to register for 10. If you have more than 60 students you will need split up your group and register for two different days.

 

NGSS-Based Curriculum Topics:

All field trips include the three dimensions of NGSS.

Kindergarten – Patterns of Survival: Students capture aquatic organisms and observe terrestrial forest organisms. Students find patterns that allow organisms to survive such as food, light, and water. (K-LS-1)

First Grade – Evidence of Heredity: Students compare adult and immature organisms they capture in a creek ecosystem and try to match baby and mature plants in the forest. 

Second Grade – Habitat Diversity and Seed Engineering: Students compare the diversity of habitats and how plant reproduction plays a vital role by modeling seed dispersal through an engineering activity. 

Third Grade – Modeling Life Cycles and Evidence of Inheritance: Students discover similar and different life cycles in the stream and on land. They analyze and interpret data to discover variations within plant and animal populations.

Fourth Grade – The Gold Rush, Weathering, and Dam Engineering: Students examine the ecological footprint of historical gold mining including providing evidence of erosion and constructing models of dams.

Fifth Grade – Aquatic Adaptations, Fire Ecology: Students temporarily capture aquatic animals and explore their structures and functions. Then they explore structures and functions in the resilient fire-impacted areas, focusing on the interactions between geosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere, and/or atmosphere.

Sixth Grade – Aquatic Adaptations, Fire Ecology: Students temporarily capture aquatic animals and explore their structures, functions, and behaviors. Then they explore structures and functions in the resilient fire-impacted areas, focusing on scientific evidence, reasoning, and debate.

________________________________________________

  • Programs begin on September 8th
  • Cost is $8 per student (minimum of 10), to be paid by school check at time of field trip or we can invoice your district. Teachers and chaperones in attendance are free.
  • Cancellation/changes MUST be made no less than one week prior to the event or the full amount of reservation is due. This does not include rainy days.
  • Clothes: Students will get wet.  Please wear an old pair of sneakers or water shoes to protect feet. NO bare feet, sandals, flip flops or open-toed shoes, even in the water.   
  • Chaperones to supervise and make sure the students stay safe: K-2nd: One adult for every five students. 3rd-6th: One adult for every ten students.
  •  Directions to Whiskeytown Environmental School:  Take Hwy. 299 west to Whiskeytown National Recreation Area. Turn left at the visitor center.  Take that road 2 miles, turn left onto Paige Bar Road (Do not go to the right, over the dam).  Continue for another 2 miles following the signs to N.E.E.D. Camp.
May 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
WES Field Lab - May 2, 2022
-
Whiskeytown Environmental School Campus
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
WES Field Lab - May 4, 2022 - ONLY 30 Spots Left
-
Whiskeytown Environmental School Campus
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
WES Field Lab - May 6, 2022 ONLY 30 spots left!
-
Whiskeytown Environmental School Campus
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4